How to Disable and Reset Superfetch on Windows to Improve Performance

24 August 2022

Home » Blogs » Windows » Tips and Tricks » How to Disable and Reset Superfetch on Windows to Improve Performance

on some devices causes problems with a 100% activity rate. To fix this, you need to or disable it.

In , Superfetch is a standard feature that loads the apps you use the most. is like a caching drive that will copy all your usual files to . By loading these programs first, Service Host aims to speed up your PC.

TOP TUTORIALS:  How to Create a Virtual CD/DVD in Windows with TotalMounter

While Superfetch usually helps, it can sometimes slow down your PC. As a background service, Superfetch constantly uses some and resources. If your system doesn’t have the latest hardware, Superfetch Service Host can easily cause high disk usage.

What usually happens is that the Superfetch service causes disk usage at 100%, if you monitor it in Task Manager. If you encounter this problem, don’t worry. How Bardimin shares this can solve your problem.

How to Reset Windows Superfetch

To resolve superfetch issues on , you can the Superfetch .

TOP TUTORIALS:  Promotion of Windows Server 2019 as Domain Controller
superfetch
  1. Open .
  2. Navigate to the “Prefetch” folder under “C:\Windows\Prefetch“.
  3. Delete all contents of the “Prefetch” folder.

How to Disable Superfetch Windows

  1. Open the “Services”. You can open it by using the keyboard keys (WIN + R) and typing “services.msc“. In addition, you can also open it from the Start button and type “services” in the search box.
open services
  1. In the Services window, search for a service with the name “SysMain” for and 11. Whereas in Windows it was previously named “Superfetch“.
  2. Then right-click and select the “Properties” option. Click the “Stop” button to turn off the service and on the Startup type, click the dropdown button and select “Disabled“.
TOP TUTORIALS:  Capture Network Traffic with Microsoft Network Monitor
disabled superfetch
  1. Click the OK button and close the Services window.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment